Climbing the teaching mountain – a reflection

the KSS Learning Commons

So I finally reached my summit. After 35 years of teaching, I’m hanging up my teacher gear- bag, tools and first aid kit. I write perhaps with with far too much sentimentality but with sincerity. Most of you know I hold little back. 🙂

I use the my beloved mountain climbing hobby as a metaphor. it seems an appropriate device but I am a reader not a writer. Like climbing rock, a gradual and arduous task, despite the glory of reaching various summits, has crux and crag. As a teacher, we experience some heavy lifting. Being a professional is never easy but the current generation of colleagues embrace a task more complicated than my own. I write to my predecessors but mostly my junior colleagues. Teaching need not be just one trek but a series of climbs and opportunities. You have to work at something. Try to love what you…

View original post 2,025 more words

This entry was posted in Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.