2014 Reflections and highlights

As the sun sets on the year 2014, I have many things to reflect on.  I have experienced both joy and pain.  As years go by, I can see I progress and learn randomly.  I have experienced some beautiful things in 2014. I have also had my struggles.  As a focus on 2014, I also see the patterns I have created over decades. Regardless, I have many blessings and always seek to look forward. No resolutions- just a desire to find more peace.

Personally, I guess  I’m ‘approaching  standards’ as report cards would go.  Ironically, my professional achievements and satisfaction has consistently been a success.  Mostly, this indicates I have boundary issues. 🙂 Clearly, I should be working less intensely and parsing more time for myself during the week.  I knew it before but was just weak in making the lifestyle change.  I should have looked after myself more but like most of my colleagues, teaching demands have steadily risen and become more complex.  We are working in a state that is approaching a mania just to keep the system productive. 

That awareness, however, is my reflection not my action plan.  As I approach the year of my retirement, I could only hope I can meet many amazing people as I have had the joy of doing during teaching.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/db9/3489630/files/2014/12/img_3526.jpg

Highlights:

  • Funniest blog post:
    “We don’t eat in the bathroom….
    http://www.scarymommy.com/dont-play-vulvas-table/
  • Favourite quotes:
    “May your coming year be filled with magic and dreams and good madness. I hope you read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you’re wonderful, and don’t forget to make some art — write or draw or build or sing or live as only you can. And I hope, somewhere in the next year, you surprise yourself.” -N.Gaiman
  • Favourite newly discovered apps:
    • MapMyHike
    • EasyBib
    • 1Password
  • Favourite blog post:
    Truth About Change…
    http://ruebicon.blogspot.ca/2014/12/10-truths-about-changing-things.html
  • Best a Professional Development: #etmooc thanks to Alec Couros, CogDog and participants. http://etmooc.org
  • Sports:
    Best professional event: theMLB playoffs.The drama and athleticism was perfect spectator sport.asmith_20140723_6746
  • All About Books:
    • Most upsetting: Cockroach by Rawi Hage
    • Most fascinating: Unbound by
    • Most provoking: This Changes Everything by Naomi Klein
    • Most fun: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and
    • Disappeared https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13486632
  • News media:
    • Saddest news: Rise and fall of Jian Ghomeshi story
    • Most inspiring news:
  • Video:
  • Most amusing: Grizzly bear and photographer Lawrence.
    • http://youtu.be/g9GKXgphl_Y
      The video shows the grizzly, dubbed “Harry the Bear,” wandering near photographer Jim Lawrence before moseying up to the camera on a tripod.(CBC)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/db9/3489630/files/2014/12/img_8600.jpg

  • Most inspiring:
    • My library partner and friend Sharon, rejoining me after her ordeal with cancer.
  • Politics:
  • Accomplishments :
    • Climbing/hiking over 32000 feet this summer.
    • Building and completing a new vegetable garden with my wife.
    • Getting off anti-depressant medication.
    • Contributing to our record usage numbers in our school library. 1400 patrons/per day average.
    • Discovering wisdom through giving the uniqueness of a student, while receiving wisdom through.
    • Discovering my various health issues is Candida yeast.
  • Joys:
    • Watching my adult children taking on life’s challenges with bravery, mindfulness and Grace
    • Hiking the Rockies and Selkirk mountains with my wife.
    • Walking the dogs with our friends.
    • My catch and release of 3 beautiful 3lb trout during a wondrous warm autumn morning.
    • Taking ornithology on as a new hobby.

Lastly, some statistics from my blog that I found amusing.

  • The most viewed post was regarding the BC teacher’s strike and lockout. Not surprising considering the sometimes emotional discourse and social media traffic.
  • The total number of views is also interesting. 24,000.  I guess blogging is worth the effort if people are sharing.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/db9/3489630/files/2014/12/img_8585.png

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/db9/3489630/files/2014/12/img_8583.png

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/db9/3489630/files/2014/12/img_8584.png

This entry was posted in Blogosphere and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.