We don’t eat in the bathroom -Scary Mommy reblog

Such a typical parenting issue that feels so scary but mothers and fathers need to grapple with how they handle sexuality. It’s just reality. Like the challenge of teaching which could be called ‘Messy Ed’ , parenting is never tidy or easy. -Al Smith

REBLOG:
http://www.scarymommy.com/dont-play-vulvas-table/

“We don’t eat in the bathroom, and we don’t play with our vulvas in the living room,” became the new mantra. And yes, eventually it became, “We don’t touch our vulvas at the table.”

IMG_1601.JPG

I’m what some people call “sex positive.” That doesn’t mean I talk with my four year olds about how great sex is and how good it feels. It means I don’t pretend it’s something other than it is.

As parents, we lie all the time. About the Easter Bunny or Santa or the Tooth Fairy, about how long ten minutes is, about whether or not we remembered they wanted to have grilled cheese for dinner again, we lie a lot. But one thing I never lie about is sex.

– See more at: http://www.scarymommy.com/dont-play-vulvas-table/#sthash.JwRJNc0I.dpuf

This entry was posted in Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.