Corporate ethos…- Patagonia

“As an alpinist who set out to make gear for my friends and never thought of myself as a “businessman” until long after I became one, I’ve wrestled the demons of corporate responsibility for some time. Who are businesses really responsible to? Their shareholders? Their customers? Their employees? None of the above, I have finally come to believe. Fundamentally, businesses are responsible to their resource base. Without a healthy planet there are no shareholders, no customers, no employees. As the conservationist David Brower liked to say, “There is no business to be done on a dead planet.”
-On Corporate Responsibility for Planet Earth, by Yvon Chouinard. Winter 2004
http://www.patagonia.com/us/patagonia.go?assetid=2386

20131015-001420.jpg(Al smith)

This entry was posted in Economics. Bookmark the permalink.