Daily Archives: April 10, 2010

Sick of ‘shock doctrine’ in BC

Like my esteemed colleague quoted in the previous post below, I too was jolted away from the public education I hold so dear, by poor health. Upon return, finding the status of my position as a high school teacher-librarian in … Continue reading

Posted in Education | Tagged

Cannibalism in Public Education

http://tlspecial.blogspot.com/2010/04/back-blogging-what-happened-to-me.html Moira Ekdahl blogs massive losses in Vancouver School District: I’m back, with a need to be attended to. I’ve been “offline” for more than a month. My little counter suggests a few of you continue to check weekly for … Continue reading

Posted in Education | Tagged

School Libraries Slashed

BC teacher-librarians stunned by proposed cuts Teacher-librarians across the province are stunned by proposed cuts to teacher-librarian staffing in recent budget recommendations by Vancouver and Coquitlam, said Heather Daly, president of the BC Teacher-Librarians’ Association. “Once upon a time, the … Continue reading

Posted in Education | Tagged